Strawberry and Cream Cheese Danishes

Standard

Why am I forever the slowest blogger. 😦 I get so distracted so easily, it’s horrible.  These last few months have been a rush of movies and fandom and general amazing things. 🙂 I recently went to Austin Texas, where I ate an absurd amount of delicious food – I’ll do a post on that later. 

It took me a while to get back into the swing of cooking, but the roomie and I went to Starbucks to grab drinks and I saw some cream cheese danishes, and thought that I should really try making those. So, here we go!  Taken from the following site: here!

 

What you need:

10 ounces cream cheese (let this set out for at least an hour)
1/2 cup sugar
2 extra-large egg yolks, at room temperature
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
2 sheets (1 box) frozen puff pastry, room temperature (alternately, ace puff pastry recipe is here.) 
10-15 large strawberries, sliced thin and small.
1 tablespoon sugar for sprinkling on top
What to do: 
 
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Grease a pan with Pam or your greasing object of choice.

Add all your ingredients together except for the tablespoon of sugar and your strawberries,  Blend on slow/low/1 or 2 until it’s all mixed and you don’t see chunks of cream cheese any longer. Remove your paddle and gently stir in the strawberries. 

 
NOTE: I made what is quite possibly the ugliest set of danishes by simply pinching edges together in a circle because I had other food going, so these danishes are ugly as sin. I would follow the recipe as suggested by the original: 
 

Unfold 1 sheet of puff pastry onto a lightly floured board and roll it slightly with a floured rolling pin until it’s a 10 by 10-inch square. Cut the sheet into quarters with a sharp knife. Place a heaping tablespoon of cheese filling into the middle of each of the 4 squares. Place the pastries on the prepared sheet pan. Repeat with the second sheet of puff pastry and refrigerate the filled Danish for 15 minutes.

Or alternately, depending on how ambitious you feel, here is a great resource: BBC FOOD!
 
Bake 15 minutes for smaller pastries (3-4 inches total) or 20 minutes for larger ones (5-7 inches total). Remove once the crust is golden brown and sprinkle with sugar as they cool. Refrigerate afterward. 
 
Image
 
What I’d change: 
 
I’ve been toying around with the whole agave syrup business. I kind of wonder how it would be if I subbed that in instead of the sugar, since I added an obscene/criminal amount of sugar because one roomie prefers things cavity inducing. 
 
Also note I didn’t include the ricotta cheese from the original – as this was made on a whim, I didn’t actually have any. I’m not sure how much it would help/taste better if you do have it, but I intend to try next time. Instead, I added 2 oz of cream cheese. Another option might be mascarpone cheese, potentially. 
 
I think next time, I would also try some other flavors in with it. Like Nutella, or chocolate syrup or caramel or something.  
Leave a Reply

