Spicy Garlic-Ginger Pork

Standard

I’m starting to think I’m allergic to pictures because all I have is a camera phone and the quality is less than acceptable. Instead I ought to lure you in with badly photoshopped pictures of food and kittens. 

ANYWAY, way back when I was doing technical writing classes we had to pick food to cook and write a technical handbook for and then bring it in. It was pretty great, honestly, tons of free food. I don’t remember where the recipe came from that I used, but it follows this recipe pretty evenly. 

What you need: 

  • about 1/2 ginger root, skin sliced off, or alternately 5 tablespoons of ginger paste
  • 1/4 onion, sliced
  • 5 garlic cloves
  • 9 Tbsp. sake (white wine can be subbed in)
  • 9 Tbsp. mirin
  • 6 Tbsp. soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp. dark soy sauce
  • 2 tsp. brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons sriracha sauce
  • 1 lb. pork (loin or whatever else will work. Just as long as it’s pork!) 

What to do: 

Place all ingredients except for the pork into a food processor and blend on high until it is a thin liquid. You do not want chunks of garlic or onion or anything else. 

Slice your pork very thinly if possible. If you bought pork chops or something with bone, simply slice into long strips that are thin. This does not have to be neat. 

Place liquid and pork strips into bowl, marinade for 1 hour to 4 hours, stirring intermittently to ensure marinade is even.

Heat stove to high, spoon pork (without liquid, as much as possible) onto pan by spoonful – only one at a time. Transfer to plate upon each one being cooked all the way through. The meat will be a dark brown, almost caramel color in parts. 

Serve with rice or noodles!

What I’d change: 

I love the spicy aspect of it but it wasn’t spicy enough. I have some garlic chili sauce I think I may add next time, if T doesn’t kill me for considering it. All in all, it was delicious. 

 

2 thoughts on “Spicy Garlic-Ginger Pork

  1. Hi! Thank you so much for trying this recipe and linking back to my post! I like your spicy version and my husband will definitely enjoy it! I’ll have to give it a try next time. I’ll be sharing this link on my facebook page – hope it’s okay with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

