Kickass Lasagna

Standard

I hate tomato sauce, so I’m going to rely on the words of my roomies and my boss, all of whom I fed this, to make sure you know it’s good. Everyone ate it up and seemed to really, super enjoy it, so I think it was a success. They had lasagna, I had salad. 🙂 I didn’t take any pictures, because it was the ugliest lasagna I have ever made (and the only, so hey.)

I ganked the recipe from AllRecipes with some edits. 

  • 1 pound Italian sausage (I used the costco brand, so whatever kind they had was what we got. It recommends sweet, but it worked just fine with normal.)
  • 3/4 pound lean ground beef
  • 5 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 12 roma tomatoes
  • 2 (6 ounce) cans tomato paste
  • 7 oz fresh cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dried basil leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon fennel seeds
  • 3 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground black pepper
  • 12 lasagna noodles (or more, if needed.)
  • 15 ounces ricotta cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 pound mozzarella cheese, sliced
  • 3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  1. On the stove, take your garlic and a little olive oil, and start to brown it.  While you’re doing this, dice/slice your sausage and hamburger up – or you can do what I did, and toss it into a food processor and blend it until it’s less of a pain. Toss it in with the garlic, and brown until there’s no more pink.
  2. Take all of your tomatoes, including your tomato paste, your water, and toss them into the food processor next. No, you don’t have to clean it out- it’s all going together! Once it’s a liquid, toss it into the mix of meat and garlic and stir it in. Dump  in  all of your herbs/dry ingredients: the sugar, basil, fennel seeds, Italian seasoning, salt, pepper.
  3. Simmer, covered, for about 1 1/2-2 hours, stirring occasionally.
  4. Boil your lasagna noodles until done – I did 10 minutes, even though it says 8-10. I also boiled a few extra because I ended up with a little more than I expected and made a large amount of lasagna. Oops! Helps if you have the right sized dish, huh? Drain the noodles, dip in cold water, and then take them out onto a plate.
  5. Take your ricotta, mix it with the egg, salt, and I added a pinch of pepper and more Italian seasoning.
  6. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  7. I kept these last two  the same as Allrecipes said- “To assemble, spread 1 1/2 cups of meat sauce in the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking dish. Arrange 6 noodles lengthwise over meat sauce. Spread with one half of the ricotta cheese mixture. Top with a third of mozzarella cheese slices. Spoon 1 1/2 cups meat sauce over mozzarella, and sprinkle with 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese. Repeat layers, and top with remaining mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. Cover with foil: to prevent sticking, either spray foil with cooking spray, or make sure the foil does not touch the cheese.”
  8. Bake in preheated oven for 25 minutes. Remove foil, and bake an additional 25 minutes. Cool for 15 minutes before serving.

So, what I ran into with this, is I subbed some things out from the original recipe. I wanted to use fresh tomatoes, which undoubtedly made it taste better, but resulted in a more watery mix. That meant that I let it stay uncovered for a little while longer, until it was less watery and more a thick, meaty situation. I also jacked up the order of ingredients in the layers which is really impressive because HOW DO YOU MESS THAT UP, it’s like FOUR LAYERS.

I would also recommend that you go with more cheese rather than less. I felt like I was skimping a bit on the ricotta and mozz, which is a damn shame.

Other than that, great success. I highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

