Wasabi and Panko Crusted Pork

Standard

So with the new addition of Brig into our household, more asian food is taking hold. I needed something that’d help me get over being sick and so it’s chili peppers tomorrow night, but wasabi tonight!  

This is a spin on Cooking Light’s recipe for Wasabi and Panko Crusted Pork, though with some variation.  I will say I’m not a huge fan of anything fried save for some special sushi, so this isn’t exactly my cup of tea, but the sauce you make is pretty damn good. 

Ingredients

1 box of panko (I found I needed more than the 2/3rds recommended, so I just dumped a ton onto a plate and said LET’S GO.)
– 1 large egg white, fork-whipped
– 1/2 lb pork loin. I deviated from the recommended pork part here, because I cut it into smaller, thinner pieces and it fried much easier.) 
– 1/2 bottle of peanut oil
– 1 teaspoon salt
– 1 tablespoon ground fresh ginger 
– 1/3rd cup chicken broth
– 2 tablespoons rice wine
– 2 teaspoons dark brown sugar
– 2 teaspoons wasabi paste
– 1/3 cup sliced green onions

Instruction

I used a plate here, and dumped panko on top, and rubbed the pork in the egg white, and then the panko and transferred it to another plate. 

The main recipe calls for you to heat a tiny bit of peanut oil, but I have awful luck with it so I added a metric fuckton (aka 1/2 bottle) so I could fry more, faster. EFFICIENCY THY NAME IS SARAH.  It took longer to cook because I ran it on about a 4 out of 9 on my stove, and I didn’t sprinkle salt to the top of it since I’d added it to the mixture. 

Mix everything else (salt, ginger, broth, rice wine, soy sauce, brown sugar, wasabi paste) together and make sure it dissolves. Dump all of it into a separate pan if you ARE using more oil than recommended, and simply wait for it to thicken a little – about 5 minutes, when it boils. Stir in green onions, and dump over this and brown rice, if you have it. 

This recipe doesn’t deviate too much from the one linked, but I made it with what I had, haha, so it’s a little different. I always prefer brown sugar in my cooking with sauces like this, I like the flavor it gives. Next time, I would also leave out the sliced green onions- wasn’t a huge fan of them in this dish. 

That being said, much as I hate frying, this was a fun one to try and it tasted good! No leftovers here!

Image

Leave a Reply

