Banana-Nutella Granola Bars

Standard

What can I do to make my mornings as easy as humanly possible while still managing not to spend money at work? Cook the night before! With 3 people here, I made 6 egg boats but those will only last so long, so I wanted to make an easy snack for people to eat.

Granola bars are one of those hella easy things you can add a million things to and have still turn out awesome. In this case, I took this recipe and edited it. I’ve made it dozens of times the way they do, and it’s good, I just wanted to try a different variation this time.

That being said.

Ingredients

2 cups Quaker Oats
1/3 cup wheat germ
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/3 cup peanut butter (smooth)
1/3 cup nutella 
1/2 cup granulated sugar
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
3 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons light corn syrup
2 bananas, mashed 
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line your pan with tin foil and grease with Pam or something similar.

Mix all dry ingredients together in a stand mixer or a large bowl, and mix all wet ingredients together in a smaller bowl. If you have a food processor, I’d recommend food processing all the wet ingredients in it.

Toss everything together in the bowl, or mix with the stand mixer, and then press it into the lined pan – I found pressing didn’t so much work, but if you “smear” it from edge to edge, you get a very even, consistent line.

Bake it for 25 minutes, and then remove, and slice into bars once it’s cool enough to handle.  I added walnuts to half of mine, since one roomie hates them and the other doesn’t mind them.

No pictures here, because I put them all away before I remembered to and now it’s time to sleep. :(!

Leave a Reply

