Roasted Tomato Soup

Aside

We’re all sick here, just before the grand ol’ moving day. We’re moving officially on the 10th, and we’ll be all moved in by the 15th or so, we’re hoping. Should be fun?  That being said, we got our newest roomie yesterday, just in time for Butters’ birthday and in time for both Butters and I to fall ill. I ended up not working today and instead sleeping for 14 hours, waking up, and  realizing all the food we had required me to actually make it. Shit sucks. So, when people are sick, normally I opt for chicken noodle soup, but in this case all we’ve had the last 3 days is pho, which, I LOVE, but I’m so done with. We’re on a break, because I need to eat solids. 😦

That being said, I dragged my sick ass out of bed and did two different recipes. One, a new one, and another one that I depend on when I’m feeling lazy.

Warning: don’t attempt this without a food processor. I tried using a mashed potato masher, and it doesn’t work. WHO’DA THUNK, it’s almost like it’s only for mashing potatoes.

The first recipe is this one: Roasted Tomato Soup, from Spoonful. I personally hate tomatoes except raw and covered in feta cheese, but the roomies like it so we gave it a try. I changed a few things after halving the recipe, as follows:

– 22 oz of cherry tomatoes

Image
– 1/2 white onion
– 4 sprigs rosemary
– 4 sprigs thyme (I had so much, I had to use it! :()
– 3 cloves garlic, one separated from the rest.

When you go to roast the tomatoes, I dumped the garlic from the last clove on top, and roasted per the instructions. The resulting smell was pretty much amazing.

Image

In addition, I substituted butter for the olive oil in the whole sauteing of the garlic and onion.

The result is:

This is the worst picture ever. Of all time. This is what I get for using a camera phone.

 Also, see that thing next to it? That is this amazing recipe I stumbled upon a while back and I’ll post it next, since I made those for myself, rather than tomato soup.  I’m typing this up from the kitchen table, and Butters looked over and goes, “Tell the internet your sick roommate approves of the soup.”

So I shall.

Leave a Reply

