Spicy Chicken Salad Sandwiches!

Standard

Spoilers: the whole house, save for B, are super picky eaters.  That means that when I make something, I often have to adjust recipes off and on until they work with us.  That being said, I did a simple chicken salad for us and it went over really well with T who historically hates anything with 90% of these ingredients.

We like spicy stuff, so I added some spicy things to it – you can take or leave ‘em, it’s all good.

What you need: 

Chicken – I bought one of the whole, prebaked/cooked chickens from Fred Meyer, but you can use 2-3 breasts or whatever as needed.  If you’re using breasts, COOK THEM FIRST. I feel like this ought to go without saying, but uh…
Mayo – 2 tablespoons. (Sweet christ not Miracle Whip. What is wrong with you. Get the real stuff.)
Walnuts – to taste. I added 3 tablespoons and they were crushed pretty thin. You can run them through a food processor a few times or take a hammer to a bunch in a plastic bag.)
Red chili flakes – to taste, I added 1 teaspoon
Lemon pepper – 1/2 teaspoon
Rosemary – 1 sprig, sliced up
Thyme – 3 sprigs/1 teaspoon
Spicy dijon mustard – 1 teaspoon (normal mustard will work fine, too.)
Horseradish sauce – 1 teaspoon
Salt – to taste
Pepper – to taste

This is legitimately the easiest thing ever. Dice your chicken as large or as small as you like it, toss in everything all together and mix with a spoon. We like ours a little drier so you may want to add a little more mayo to yours, depending on what you like.

Note that this is spicy – the spicy dijon mustard, red chili flakes and the horseradish sauce make it that way. You can substitute normal mustard and a little Greek yogurt for the sauce if you like.

I should also note that if you have Ninkasi – Spring Reign available where you are, it’s a really great beer to drink with this.

Next time, I think I may actually use bacon with it, I bet that’d be awesome. :)

Last thing: this is the recipe that had me thinking about making it. I highly recommend, though I haven’t made it that way yet!

Leave a Reply

